Skip to content
28. January 2022

a-ha announce album and film release

The band a-ha has contracted RCA Germany for the international release of “True North”, a filmed live performance of 10 new songs, to be released as a film and album (with 12 tracks in total) in fall 2022. “True North” will be the band’s first new album since 2015’s “Cast In Steel”.

The film is a poetic tribute to the country’s spectacular landscapes, the sea and Norwegian culture. “True North” is set in the center of the effects of climate change, lyrics and music are about the interaction between man and nature. The music was recorded together with the Arctic Philharmonic in Norway.

Magne Furuholmen: “Set in the awesome landscape of Northern Norway and recorded in the town of Bodø up above the Arctic Circle, the music from the True North film will be made available as a new album from the group for the first time since “Cast in Steel” (2015). We are really looking forward to collaborating with the RCA division of Sony Music for the worldwide release on this.”

The band a-ha was formed in Norway in 1982 and consists of Morten Harket (vocals), Pål Waaktaar-Savoy (guitar) and Magne Furuholmen (keyboards). Their biggest hits include ‘Take On Me’ (1985), ‘The Sun Always Shines on T.V.’, ‘The Living Daylights’, ‘Stay On These Roads’, ‘Crying in the Rain’, ‘Summer Moved On’ and ‘Foot of the Mountain’. With ten studio albums, several compilations and four live albums, countless platinum awards and over 80 million records sold, a-ha is one of the most successful bands of all time.